Food and Drink

LIGHT AND DELICIOUS LEMON AND CREAM CUPCAKES – RECIPE & INSTRUCTIONS

formyblog7s 
Hello to everybody reading my post. I hope that you’re feeling happy and having a good day!

Do the cupcakes I’ve shown you a picture of appeal to you? If the answer is yes, then keep on reading this post to find out exactly how I made these little heavenly pieces of cake! And if the answer is no, then what is wrong with you?! How can you resist these irresistible temptations!

formyblog1

INGREDIENTS – makes 24 cupcakes

175g self-raising flour
175g unsalted butter
180g caster sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
home made lemon curd/store bought lemon curd
150ml double cream
3 medium eggs
50g white chocolate ( optional )

Okay, so now we have the ingredients out of the way I’m now going to show you how you can easily make 24 delicious cupcakes. You do not have to be a genius at baking for these to turn out perfectly. They are very very easy to make, all you need is a spare 10-15 minutes to prepare your mixture and an oven that works.

Preheat your oven to 170 C

forblog1

Put the caster sugar and butter into a bowl and beat together with a wooden spoon until light and fluffy. I would recommend leaving the butter out of the fridge for at least 2 hours before using, otherwise the butter will be too hard to work with. 

for my blog2

Next up add in your 3 eggs and the vanilla extract. If you don’t like vanilla you could just leave this out, as the sugar helps to sweeten the cupcakes. You could also add some lemon extract or the zest of one lemon if you’d like them to be extra lemony! 

Once you’ve added your ingredients, give them all good beat with a spoon and then grab a whisk and whisk the mixture for a minute or so just to make sure the egg has distributed evenly. The mixture at this point usually looks very unappealing, but don’t worry because that will change once we add the self-raising flour.

forthe blog 3

Sieve the self-raising flour and add to your cupcake mixture. Using a wooden spoon slowly beat in the flour until you’re left with a smooth and thick texture that is well mixed.

formyblog3

Put the cupcake mixture into cupcake cases. Make sure you divide the mixture evenly so you get an even bake and your cupcakes are all uniform. As you can see from the pictures, I didn’t do this but in my defence I was in a rush. 

Put these into the oven for around 12-14 minutes until golden brown. 

formyblog5-e1408057593287

Leave the cakes cool for an hour and then remove them from their cases. 

formyblog6

Using a sharp bread knife, carefully slice the top of the cupcakes off and leave them to the side. I then use a teaspoon of lemon curd and place it onto the cupcake. I then whipped up some cream,and placed this onto the lemon curd. Grab the top of your cupcake and gently press into the top of the cream. 

As you can see, these were very simple to make and taste incredible. They are very moreish. I first made these for my mum when she was sick in hospital but I’ve made them a few times since and they are the perfect pick me up cupcake. They are fresh, tasty and so moist and keep very well for 2-3 days when stored in an air tight container. You must give these a try! 

formyblog7

formyblog7s

OPTIONAL: If you fancy an extra touch, melt 50g white chocolate in a bowl over a pan of simmering water. Once melted, dip a fork into the chocolate and then whip back and forth over your cupcakes. 

Let me know what you think! Link me to some of your own blog posts on baking, I’d love to read them. Or send me some of your favourite recipes that I could maybe try out sometime soon.

3 thoughts on “LIGHT AND DELICIOUS LEMON AND CREAM CUPCAKES – RECIPE & INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Yammy, these look really great & delicious. I think i have never had lemon curd before, but then again – it must be something very british 🙂
    Now that autumn comes closer, i’d say some cupcakes are in order!!

Leave a Reply

