Beauty

MAKEUP REVOLUTION LIPSTICKS – FELONY, DEPRAVED AND IMMORAL

makeuprevol

I picked up three Makeup Revolution lipsticks earlier this year. At the time I was going through a phase of creating unusual looks with make up and when I seen these bright and vivid colours priced at only £1.00 each I knew that I had to try them out.

makessup

I have to be honest with you and say that I have had issues with the packaging. The lids tend to come off as soon as I pick them up and the bullet inside isn’t very secure and wobbles around which can make application a little tricky. If you depotted the lipsticks into a palette then these problems would be solved, so I guess it isn’t a huge issue and I do hate to complain since the price is so low but I had to mention it.

makeuprevoll

So here are some swatches! We have Immoral, a light baby sky blue. Felony, a pale pastel yellow and my personal favourite; Depraved, a cool deep violet.

The lipsticks aren’t terrible but they aren’t anything special either. Immoral and Depraved give satisfactory results. Felony on the other hand, is dreadful.

I’d describe the texture more like a thin balm rather than a creamy lipstick. The coverage is sheer and requires a lot of coats to build up to an opaque finish. With the yellow colour, Felony, I find it a struggle to get anywhere near opaque. Felony is very patchy on my lips and even with concealer/lipcote/powder underneath I just can’t manage to get a good finish. My lips always look transparent and uneven which is a shame as the bullet is so vibrant and appealing.

Immoral and Depraved seem to work much better for me, though they can be slightly patchy.. but with 5 or so layers I can manage to build up a strong colour which lasts for around an hour before needing to be reapplied. If I use a lipstick sealer, like Lipcote, the lipstick lasts around 3 hours which isn’t too bad. If you want to try these lipsticks out and plan on wearing them for more than an hour, then I would say Lipcote is essential to keep the lipstick locked on your lips.

makeuprevolution

I’m unsure if I’d repurchase any of these colours. Yes, they are only £1.00 and the results are reasonable but I would rather spend my money on something that actually works and leaves me feeling completely satisfied.

This review is pretty negative, and I’d just like to say before I wrap it up that I am a fan of Makeup Revolution and don’t feel this way about all of their products. One of my current favourite nude lipsticks is by this brand and I find it very impressive for the low price. I’m just not a fan of these particular lipsticks.

What brand would you recommend for unusual colour lipsticks? Have you tried out Makeup Revolution?
 

 

2 thoughts on “MAKEUP REVOLUTION LIPSTICKS – FELONY, DEPRAVED AND IMMORAL

Leave a Reply

