Uncategorized

TREK PROTEIN FLAPJACKS – NATURALBALANCEFOODS

Good evening everybody! I hope you’re all doing well?

Today I’m going to be discussing protein flapjacks. Now before I start my post I just want to say that I’m a huge snacker. I’m constantly reaching for something to eat, even if I’ve just had a big meal. I tend to snack when I feel a tad hungry, when I’m bored or when I’m feeling sad. I’ve never been one to eat three meals a day and leave it at that. I have always been the kind of girl to grab a handful of food when I’m in the kitchen. It isn’t a healthy habit to have and it’s probably one of the reasons I’m overweight. It’s a habit I’ve never really broken. But after trying the Trek Protein Flapjacks I think I’ve found something which has made a noticeable difference in my snacking habits!

trot

Natural Balance Foods are a British company devoted to increasing happiness with yummy healthy snacks. Nakd and Trek are both a product of Natural Balance Foods and I am already a huge fan of Nakd. It wasn’t that long ago that I posted a recipe using the Nakd cherry raisins. I’ve never tried their Trek range before as I haven’t really seen them around. But after doing some research online, I can see the cases of 16 are available on the http://www.naturalbalancefoods.co.uk/ website and a few other places like Amazon. You can also pick up single flapjacks in most Supermarkets for around 90p.

I was very kindly sent a mixed case to review which contained the flavours morning berry, banana bread, original oat, cocoa coconut, oat raisin and cocoa oat. Myself and my partner are not huge fans of banana bread so I gave those ones away to my aunt. The first time I tried the flapjacks I opened up all 6 bars so I could take a few photos and give them a taste test. I halved each one and me and my partner sat down and tried them all. Apart from the banana bread, they were all absolutely delicious. The first thing I noticed was how moist and soft they were. The taste was fresh like they had only been baked a few hours before. I thought these were even better than homemade ones. Each flavour was unique and stood out in the flapjack. My favourite was probably the oat raisin which had a little cinnamon kick to it.

The great thing about the flapjacks is how satisfying they are. After only eating two halves each, me and my partner were both struggling to put anything else in our mouths. We have been picking up the flapjacks to snack on throughout the week and already, we have both noticed a big difference in our snacking habits. It’s difficult to reach for a snack when you’re feeling so full. I just wouldn’t feel hungry for 4 to 5 hours which is very unusual for me. My aunt is a nurse and said that she had took them on her shifts to try out. She even said herself how filling they were and how amazing it was they could keep her going for hours on end.

You might be thinking, how can these be so filling? They must be full of calories? But each bar contains an average of around 235 calories which isn’t much at all. These flapjacks are HEALTHY, they each contain 9-10g protein per bar and protein is known for helping to make you feel fuller for longer. The bars are wheat, dairy and gluten free so they can be enjoyed by so many of us!

TREK2 trek

Have you tried any of the Trek range before? What do you eat to keep you feeling full? Are you a snacker?

Leave a Reply

